Facing Your Fears

I’ve been thinking a lot recently and if you know me that is never a good thing. This time it actually was! You have to be honest with yourself before you can be honest with others. I am just getting through a really bad breakup for me it has been the worse one so far (emotionally), but because of that I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching and thinking about myself. I’ve come to realize that I limit myself in so many ways it’s crazy and unhealthy. I have so many thoughts in my mind telling me no, so many triggers that don’t allow me to move forward. Those triggers are holding me back to what potentially could be the best thing that could happen to me. Let’s face the facts here these so called “triggers” are my fears. Fear is defined as an emotion induced by a perceived threat which causes entities to quickly pull far away from it and usually hide. So what are my fears you may ask? Well I’m about to tell you them so sit down, take notes and be inspired to change you!

My biggest fear of them all is my fear of being alone. How I came about realizing the reason behind this fear I’d rather not say, but I will say that it started around the time when I was only 13yrs old (I’m now 22). I’ve been battling with this for almost 10 years now, I’m finally about to win. The event that happened made me feel like the world was against me, that no one had my back and wouldn’t believe me. It caused me to hate literally everything the world, my family, life itself. To this day I would say that I’m a pretty lame boring person haha because of it. This is my routine every week: I work Mon-Fri 8-5; Mon. nights I have a bowling league that I go to, Sat-Sun I literally almost never leave my room with the random weekly movie somewhere in there. Every week day after day for the past month almost that has been me. Wouldn’t you say it’s time for a change? I’d like to think so, but here’s my problem. I have been living with this hatred, this depression, this loneliness for so long that I’ve made little friends, little impacts on people’s lives for them to actually want to be around me. I’m going to change! My fear of being alone, being rejected will cease to exist today! It may, no it will take some time for me to step back out into the world but today I declare that I will face this fear and I will overcome it.

My second biggest fear that I would like to share with you is, my fear of falling. This fear I honestly don’t know how it came to be, I’ve tried to overcome it before but failed. I used to have a lot of dreams where I would be falling from the sky with no parachute, nothing just falling to my death. I’ve developed a I guess you can say an anxiety to anything that involves me falling from high places at extremely fast speeds, for ex. Rollercoasters. Rollercoasters honestly scare the living shit out of me. Now let me just clear this up for you, I’m afraid of falling not afraid of heights there is a difference. I can go up as high as I want to; it’s coming down where my problem lies, kind of like a cat stuck in a tree kind of way. So even if what I’m about to say scares me to death, I’m going to face my fear of falling I don’t know if I’m going to overcome it but you can damn sure believe I’m going to fight it. After I accomplish overcoming my first fear, with these new friends I have made I’m just so lucky to live 30 mins. away from six flags, so I will go to six flags and ride ever rollercoaster I’ve been too scared to ride before. I believe that by doing that even if I don’t get over this fear, I can say I did it! I tried! I fought! Then go home that day feeling amazing that I faced something that has been very hard for me.

My third biggest fear would be trying new foods. As most people already know I am one of the pickiest people you will ever meet when it comes to food. Sadly through the course of my life so far I only amount to eating maybe once a day if that and usually it’s junk with the occasional restaurants. I am glad to say that I no longer eat fast food with the exception of maybe 2 fast food restaurants. The neglect of these fast food companies with teaching their employees what is ok to serve and what is not, plus the overall comprehension of noted employees is ridiculous, how someone could not understand such a simple order is beyond me. Back to the topic at hand, how will I overcome this fear? I honestly don’t know what I do have in mind though is when again the first fear is conquered and I actually get out and explore more. I would probably have one of these new found friends take me to a random restaurant and honestly just order for me without me having a say in it at all. I couldn’t complain or say anything bad, I would honestly have to attempt to eat every last piece of what they choose for me.

So what are your biggest fears? What is it you want to do but you are holding back? What is your dream? Now that you know my 3 biggest fears and how I plan to overcome them do you feel a little inspired to go out and face your fears? If you do that’s great, go do it! I support you 100%. I believe that each of us, everyone must eventually confront our own fears; we must come face to face with them. How we handle our fears will determine where we go with the rest of our lives. Do you want to experience an adventure or to be limited by the fear of what if? I don’t know about you but I think I’ve limited my life enough, it’s time to live so stop running face your fears head on and tackle them! If you feel you can’t then just do this, everyday from now on go out and do one thing that scares you. “There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.” Set yourself free!

 

About Jullian Autry

When I set my heart on something, I give it my all. That's why I decided to blog.I am going to share my story with everyone I want to show you all who I am, my life,dreams and aspirations. I hope that my post, my story and inspiring/motivational words will be inspirational to you and motivate you to be the best you can be. I wish your dreams and potential to be born into life through my writing. Everyone is more than welcome to comment and share their opinions. I encourage it.

Posted on July 3, 2013, in Inspirational, Post Ideas, PostAday, This is me! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

The Fifth Column

"News and views from around the world"

Tipsy Lit

the publishing imprint of author ericka clay

the amused bouche

real food · farm life · wanderlust adventures | santa barbara, california

Cook in Five Square Meters

Recipes & Photos in 5m²

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

Finger, Fork & Knife

I'm Kate and Finger, Fork and Knife is where I record the recipes that excite, nourish and inspire me. I focus on wholesome, high-nutrition, home-cooked food - recipes that satisfy and delight. Welcome!

tychogirl

Through binoculars / I leave my narrow world for / an ocean of stars.

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

The Poetry Channel

Scribo ergo sum

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

myspokenheart

musings on life, love and laughter from my spoken heart to yours

Tienny

* The Storyteller * Conceptual Artist * Character Designer * Illustrator * Animator * Inker *

Excuse Us for Living

Making our way through our retirement years

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

Busy Mind Thinking

Wait! What?!

The WordPress Blogatorium

Reblogs, Reviews and more

