Daily Prompt: Sad But True

Daily Prompt: Sad But True

Tell us about the harshest, most difficult to hear — but accurate — criticism you’ve ever gotten. Does it still apply?

You know they say that you yourself are your worst critic, I believe that statement more than anyone. It’s sad but true but I am harder on myself than any person could ever be. When it comes to everyday life, my writing, my bowling anything I do, I criticize myself really harshly.  Most times I can’t believe the things I think about myself, for example: I always feel like my writing isn’t good enough, not saying it isn’t good enough for my readers but I don’t feel it’s good enough for me. I always tend to think that I can never fully get my point across, get my message out there. I think that my writing isn’t good enough, that no one reads because I have to many errors or my writing is all over the place or that my life and my post just aren’t interesting at all. I don’t know but I move past that and continue to write regardless of if or when someone will read my post. You definitely are your worse critic.

I get myself so down sometimes that I literally fall into a state of depression, that’s not healthy, but I’m working on it. It’s the harsh, most difficult to hear but accurate truth, but I think it’s safe to say I’m on the right path and though I may criticize my work or everyday things I do in life, I know in the end that I’m working towards a goal. I’m working towards being a better writer and conveying my feelings and thoughts onto paper and I’m working on facing challenges that I would run from because I was too scared of rejection. It’s a battle within myself, and I’m going to win this battle. In the end I will be a warrior and someone will look back on this blog and say “You’ve come a long way from how you used to be, good job!” Then I will feel truly satisfied, until then look out world because I’m not stopping and soon you won’t see me criticizing myself but praising myself instead for how far I’ve come.

 

-Jullian

 

Read others take on this Prompt:

  1. Harsh | The Magic Black Book
  2. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Sad But True – Emotions
  3. Winter Is Near (Harsh) | photo potpourri
  4. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Under the Monkey Tree
  5. Accurate | Lost in Adeline’s
  6. Criticism never kills | Clandestine Destiny
  7. That Was Way Harsh [Daily Prompt: Sad But True] | unknowinglee
  8. ‘You are DELUDED!’ | alienorajt
  9. Telling myself off. | thoughtsofrkh
  10. Always impatient | crookedeyebrows
  11. Daily Prompt: Sad But True – Criticism | Anniemation Floe
  12. (22) Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  13. Daily Prompt: Sad But True « Mama Bear Musings
  14. My Fiancé thinks I am a Junkie! | Shiwanidoez
  15. Writing Advice; “Good Writing Is Persisting” (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  16. the truth hurts like a 4 year old’s stomp on your foot | wannabepoet
  17. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Awl and Scribe
  18. Lolz Criticism | મન ની વાત
  19. DAILY PROMPT: SAD BUT TRUE? | SERENDIPITY
  20. You’re Useless | submissivelysecret
  21. Daily Prompt: Sad But True (A Conversation Between Friends) | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  22. She Sees the World Through Rose Coloured Glasses … | Girlie Groove
  23. Maybe it’s you. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Reinvention of Mama
  24. Puppy Mill Life… | Haiku By Ku
  25. Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Chicomallorca’s Blog
  26. Harshest | Hope* the happy hugger
  27. Regarding Those Friends Who See Through You to Something Better: | Rob’s Surf Report
  28. The Lurker’s List | Misery
About Jullian Autry

When I set my heart on something, I give it my all. That's why I decided to blog.I am going to share my story with everyone I want to show you all who I am, my life,dreams and aspirations. I hope that my post, my story and inspiring/motivational words will be inspirational to you and motivate you to be the best you can be. I wish your dreams and potential to be born into life through my writing. Everyone is more than welcome to comment and share their opinions. I encourage it.

Posted on October 22, 2013, in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. ~ Most writers feel that way, that they’ll never be good enough. But then, we just have to let go of that feeling and let our thoughts flow. Have more faith in yourself because you can do it. There are times when thoughts can be really devastating that it could affect our performance. Well, let’s not get there. More Power to you! Cheers! 🙂 – Bliss, The Lurker’s List

  2. I am just like you, the biggest self critic. Self criticism not only makes one depressive and unwanted but also let others take undue advantage. Hope to see you come out stronger and wiser… 🙂

  3. Wow Jullian, you are confirming what I have always suspected about all writers: That even the best of writers, in the dark recesses of their minds, lingers some doubt about their ability to get their point across. I believe we seek an audience not because we want fame or adulation but because we want the affirmation that we are indeed getting our point across. Keep writing.

  4. We are our own worst enemy!

  1. Pingback: You’re like a cat – you only call when you want something | Feel & Rebuild Your Self Confidence

  2. Pingback: Life is Harsh | Kansa Muse

  3. Pingback: MY NARCISSISM | hastywords

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sad But True – Criticism | Anniemation Floe

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Processing the life

  6. Pingback: From the mouths of babes | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  7. Pingback: Regarding Those Friends Who See Through You to Something Better: | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: Harsh |

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: As Seen on TV | The Story of a Guy

  10. Pingback: Homepage

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Harsh – Poem / Poetry – “The Survey” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

The Fifth Column

"News and views from around the world"

Tipsy Lit

the publishing imprint of author ericka clay

the amused bouche

real food · farm life · wanderlust adventures | santa barbara, california

Cook in Five Square Meters

Recipes & Photos in 5m²

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

Finger, Fork & Knife

I'm Kate and Finger, Fork and Knife is where I record the recipes that excite, nourish and inspire me. I focus on wholesome, high-nutrition, home-cooked food - recipes that satisfy and delight. Welcome!

tychogirl

Through binoculars / I leave my narrow world for / an ocean of stars.

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

The Poetry Channel

Scribo ergo sum

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

myspokenheart

musings on life, love and laughter from my spoken heart to yours

Tienny

* The Storyteller * Conceptual Artist * Character Designer * Illustrator * Animator * Inker *

Excuse Us for Living

Making our way through our retirement years

A Dose of Inspiration

Surrender to universal Love <3

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

Busy Mind Thinking

Wait! What?!

The WordPress Blogatorium

Reblogs, Reviews and more

