Truth Or DARE!

Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare

Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?

honesty

Is it possible to be too honest? Yes, it is possible. How you ask? When a person decides that they are going to tell you the truth 100% of the time disregarding any other input, it puts the situation into a setup where someone is going to lets say be too hurt by it. There is a time and a place for everything. It’s not bad to be honest but you also must take into consideration the feelings of another person or whole community.

For example; A girl ask some very serious questions to a guy. The guy is very serious about his answers there’s not even a hint of joking in his voice. The girl is very hurt by his responses, because she had a crush on the guy and doesn’t know how to react other than in a negative manner. Questions like these will put you in a bad situation.

Girl: Am I ugly?
Guy: Yes
Girl: Am I fat
Guy: Yes
Girl: Do I talk to much?
Guy: Yes!

These are great examples of someone being too honest. Like I said, it is perfectly fine to be honest, you just need to assess the situation in a way where your honesty doesn’t destroy someone’s will or self confidence. Honesty can hurt in many other ways, those were just some examples. If you’re intentionally being too honest and saying exactly how you feel all of the time, I would tell you you’re a horrible person. I’m honest, I don’t think I can live a day without being honest. Friends usually turn to me whenever they’re in need, and I tell them exactly how I see the situation. Am I a horrible person? I just might be. I can be gullible, I’m very unwary of situations sometimes and I don’t think till after the fact. In most situations my thoughts are “Oh, was I not supposed to say that?” and “I’m sorry, I thought it was alright to say”. In most situations for me this is done 100% unintentionally and I just didn’t think before I spoke.

I wear my heart on my sleeve. I’m very empathic and yes, I believe I am too honest at times. I base it solely on my core principles and the belief that when we were all younger we were told “Treat others how you want to be treated” I’ve always done that. Is it a bad thing? I don’t think it is but it can turn some situations into a nasty  place to be. I know my limits and I know how to be honest in a way that doesn’t hurt someone intentionally. Now, you might be asking why do I keep saying “Intentionally, Unintentionally”? I use those words because sometimes I do hurt people but I never do it on purpose, I never say anything with the intent to hurt someone mentally. If I say something that hurt you, I immediately apologize and find a way to make amends quickly, if I am made known that it hurt you.

With that being said, yes you can be too honest and yes honesty is the best policy. Just treat people how you want to be treated, be respectful, sincere and I know for sure you will be in good shape.

-Jullian

Can you really be too honest? Read what others have to say:

  1. You Can Take Your Bucket List And Shove It | The Jittery Goat
  2. Misprints, Miscommunications and Lies | As I please
  3. To reason with God | A Teacher’s Blog
  4. Truth Or Dare | My Little Avalon
  5. Cross my Heart | Rose-tinted Rambles
  6. Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare « cognitive reflection
  7. of being found out « Anawnimiss
  8. Truth | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  9. Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare | “The Ish,” presented by the Bohemian Rock Star
  10. Truth or Dare | Geek Ergo Sum
  11. DP Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare | Sabethville
  12. The Bare Truth | A mom’s blog
  13. 4: When God told me the truth | 365 days of defiance
  14. The truth or not the truth, that is the question. (Daily Prompt – Truth or Dare) | L5GN
  15. Truth | thinkerscap
  16. Honestly, you are a FRIGHT!! Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  17. Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare | Awl and Scribe
  18. Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  19. Truth – Weekly Photo Challenge | maydabosco
  20. Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare | A Mixed Bag
  21. Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare | Under the Monkey Tree
  22. Too Honest ????? | crookedeyebrows
  23. Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare | Basically Beyond Basic
  24. When Honesty Is Not the Best Policy | The Photo Faith Challenge
  25. Butterfly Journal: Truth (Entry #3) | Through the Peacock’s Eyes
  26. Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare | adorablyobnoxious
  27. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare – Truth
  28. Truth: Not a Policy | Ako Si Ehm Blog
  29. Would I lie to you? | The verbal hedge
  30. Honesty | Sue’s Trifles
  31. Truth or Dare… | LOQUACITÉ

About Jullian Autry

When I set my heart on something, I give it my all. That's why I decided to blog.I am going to share my story with everyone I want to show you all who I am, my life,dreams and aspirations. I hope that my post, my story and inspiring/motivational words will be inspirational to you and motivate you to be the best you can be. I wish your dreams and potential to be born into life through my writing. Everyone is more than welcome to comment and share their opinions. I encourage it.

Posted on January 3, 2014, in Daily Prompt, friendship, Personal, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

Leave a Reply

The Fifth Column

"News and views from around the world"

Tipsy Lit

the publishing imprint of author ericka clay

Cook in Five Square Meters

Recipes & Photos in 5m²

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

Finger, Fork & Knife

I'm Kate and Finger, Fork and Knife is where I record the recipes that excite, nourish and inspire me. I focus on wholesome, high-nutrition, home-cooked food - recipes that satisfy and delight. Welcome!

tychogirl

Through binoculars / I leave my narrow world for / an ocean of stars.

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

The Poetry Channel

Scribo ergo sum

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

myspokenheart

musings on life, love and laughter from my spoken heart to yours

Tienny

* The Storyteller * Conceptual Artist * Character Designer * Illustrator * Animator * Inker *

Excuse Us for Living

Making our way through our retirement years

A Dose of Inspiration

Surrender to universal Love <3

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

Busy Mind Thinking

Wait! What?!

The WordPress Blogatorium

Reblogs, Reviews and more

