Sweet Sixteen

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/daily-prompt-sixteen/

Write a post inspired by your sixteenth birthday.

101931

I turned 16 on October 23rd of 2006. I remember this particular for a number of reasons, first reason being that my mom tried to throw me a surprise birthday party. This failed miserably, this is why. So, here I was at my friend Duy’s house gaming like we usually do and things started to get a little suspicious. My friends can’t keep secrets from me at all, the slightest hint of something would give it away because my brain puts things together like a puzzle. One of my friends made a comment that pretty much gave it away, I just didn’t know it at that exact time. The comment was “So, Jullian you’re not going to the party?” , I instantaneously said what party? He goes “Oh oh ohhh, never mind”. My friend Duy quickly tries to change the subject and ask me if I wanted to go to a haunted house, I say “Sure” since I’ve never been to one(Still to this day).

We headed out and started driving, of course I had no clue where we were going at that moment I didn’t care. I was having fun with my friends and that’s all that mattered to me. The song Everytime we touch by Cascada and my friend whose like 6’3″ starts headbanging to it and it is the most hilarious thing I’ve ever seen. A car next to us also thought it was funny because they matched our speed just so they could watch. Around the time the song was over we pulled into a apartment complex, I ask “Where are we?” my question was avoided.  Strike number 2! I knew something was up, so I asked again “Where are we, why are we here?”. Duy said that he just needed to get something from a friend who lives here. Strike number 3! I can tell when people are lying, all the puzzle pieces started to come together and I was pretty much prepared for anything that was about to happen. I knew we weren’t going to a haunted house!(I really wanted to go too, still haven’t been to one).

I noticed cars in the parking lot of the clubhouse and got really suspicious then, but I didn’t say anything. We  then walked into the clubhouse and everyone yells “SURPRISE!”, I instantly knew it by the time we walked up and they all asked me why I didn’t look surprised. I told them because too many hints were given, I knew something was up! I still enjoyed it and I was very happy that everyone got together to attempt to throw me a surprise party, it really is the little things that matter the most.All of my family was there and most of my bowling friends at the time were there and it was just a overall great experience.

Here’s the 2nd reason why I very vividly remember this particular birthday. One of my friends just happen to be in that foreign exchange program at her school and the foreign exchange student was also there. Man let me tell you this girl was drop dead gorgeous! Also, her accent just made get extra, I mean extra cute! I don’t remember where she was from but I was ecstatic that she was there, because I had the biggest crush on her. When I say biggest crush I mean biggest, to this day I don’t think I’ve ever met a girl that has made me feel that way. Now that I think back on it, I really wish I would have taken some pictures with her. There it is, my 16th birthday in a nutshell. One of my best birthdays ever, even though they failed at surprising me.

P.S. Someone please take me to a haunted house!

-Jullian

Others sweet sixteens:

  1. Watering pots | Vintage Photography
  2. My Floating Musings
  3. Bert Was A Thief (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  4. Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | Under the Monkey Tree
  5. Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic
  6. Insert End of an Era Cliché Here | AS I PLEASE
  7. Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | The Wandering Poet
  8. Inspiration of a Sixteen-year Old — A Haiku: Monday, January 20, 2014 | LisaRosier.com
  9. Sweet Sixteen | Geek Ergo Sum
  10. Not so Sweet Sixteen | Dance with the Rain
  11. Sixteen Candles and One Surprise Party | meanderedwanderings
  12. Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  13. It’s been an extremely long time since I was sixteen | thoughtsofrkh
  14. Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | Vagabond
  15. Inside left blank for your own message | Kate Murray
  16. Sweet Sixteen – Quizmania | L5GN
  17. [M.M.X.I.V. 20] Hawai’i shirts | Never A Worry
  18. And this is why I lose my memories… | Rob’s Surf Report
  19. POEM: Sweet NOT Sixteen | Poetry by Nowelle
  20. 17 Again | Processing the life
  21. Was Hitler sweet at sixteen? | Mishe en Place
  22. Old and Wise… | Haiku By Ku
  23. Na segunda metade dos 15 | Sonhos desencontrados
  24. Sixteen Birthday | Flowers and Breezes
  25. Daily Prompt: Being Sixteen! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  26. DP Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen http://sabethville.wordpress.com | Sabethville
  27. Some Girls Got Mustangs/Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  28. Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  29. Not so sweet sixteen | A mom’s blog
  30. Daily Prompt – Sweet Sixteen – You can always have fun | storyofmylife1993
  31. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/daily-prompt-sixteen/ | all my likes
  32. Opening the Doors of Perception | The Silver Leaf Journal
  33. Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen | Poetry

About Jullian Autry

When I set my heart on something, I give it my all. That's why I decided to blog.I am going to share my story with everyone I want to show you all who I am, my life,dreams and aspirations. I hope that my post, my story and inspiring/motivational words will be inspirational to you and motivate you to be the best you can be. I wish your dreams and potential to be born into life through my writing. Everyone is more than welcome to comment and share their opinions. I encourage it.

Posted on January 20, 2014, in Birthday, Celebration, Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

Leave a Reply

The Fifth Column

"News and views from around the world"

Tipsy Lit

the publishing imprint of author ericka clay

the amused bouche

real food · farm life · wanderlust adventures | santa barbara, california

Cook in Five Square Meters

Recipes & Photos in 5m²

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

Finger, Fork & Knife

I'm Kate and Finger, Fork and Knife is where I record the recipes that excite, nourish and inspire me. I focus on wholesome, high-nutrition, home-cooked food - recipes that satisfy and delight. Welcome!

tychogirl

Through binoculars / I leave my narrow world for / an ocean of stars.

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

The Poetry Channel

Scribo ergo sum

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

myspokenheart

musings on life, love and laughter from my spoken heart to yours

Tienny

* The Storyteller * Conceptual Artist * Character Designer * Illustrator * Animator * Inker *

Excuse Us for Living

Making our way through our retirement years

A Dose of Inspiration

Surrender to universal Love <3

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

Busy Mind Thinking

Wait! What?!

The WordPress Blogatorium

Reblogs, Reviews and more

