Something So Strong

Daily Prompt: Something So Strong

Tell us the origin story of your best friend. How did you become friends? What is it that keeps your friendship rockin’ after all these years?

best-friend-quotes-125

The origin story of my best friend? How did we become friends? I have multiple best friends, but this guy he’s one of the first. It’s actually a funny story that we reminisce on every now and then. My best friend and I have been friends since 2000. You do the math on that one, yeah it’s been a long time. A very long time indeed compared to most friendships. Though our friendship hasn’t really grown over the years and we both have gone our separate ways, the core foundation of us being friends will always be there. I still consider him my “brotha from anotha motha” and we still talk even to this day.

I guess this is the part where I tell you how we met right? Back in the day, I was actually really short, like really short. Growing up as an only child for about 8-9 years and going to charter academies put me in a sort of comfortable “bubble”. So when I went to a public middle school for the first time since I could remember, it was a whole new experience for me. With that came along certain trials like riding a bus to school, being around multiple cultures (not just one or two) and people actually being mean. The beginning of 6th grade was when I met my best friend on the bus ride home from school. Keep in mind that I never really rode a bus before now and it was all new to me.

I don’t remember exactly what happened, all I remember was making this guy mad somehow by accidentally spilling kool-aid or something on him. Yes, something so simple as spilling a drink by accident. I remember getting off the bus and suddenly being pushed to ground, naturally not knowing what was going on I got up and pushed back. Now I was about 4’9″ just as skinny as I am now and this guy was a giant compared to me. Next thing you know he punches me, right in the chest then pours the rest of the drink he had on my shirt. I got up and started crying, I mean I didn’t know what else to do and I was obviously in a bad situation. This bad situation turned into a great ever lasting friendship.

As I’m walking home crying with dirt all over me there were two people who actually came over to me who happened to be walking in the same direction. One of them was my now best friend, the other was a girl I eventually had a crush on but she was 2 years older then me. I got myself together and stopped crying with the help of the two who asked if I was okay and got home to wait for my mom to tell her everything that happened to me that day. Turns out the two that lent a helping hand lived on the same street as me. My now bestfriend lived literally right across the street. It just happened to be that we took the same bus to school in the morning(a different bus then the one that drops us off) and on the way he asked again if I was okay from yesterday. I responded with “Yes, I’m okay thank you” and we’ve been best friends ever since. We stay in touch and even game sometimes even after all of these years. My life definitely would be different if I had not met him. A couple examples would be that I wouldn’t be watching anime like I do or even Asian dramas and I wouldn’t be this Asian rounded. This is in no way a negative thing, I love how my life has turned out and I’m very thankful for having my best friend in my life.

How did other bloggers meet their best friend? Find out below!

  1. Ilya Fostiy. New Life | The Bliss of Reality
  2. Facebook | Crazy Art
  3. Ilya Fostiy. Sweet Romance | Crazy Art
  4. Devotion | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Proud | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  6. Prepare to Die & The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  7. Daily Prompt: Something So Strong-Psychology behind a strong bond between friend | Journeyman
  8. You Have Beautiful Eyes | Musings | WANGSGARD
  9. Atlantis onwards: Soul Mate | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  10. big sister | yi-ching lin photography
  11. Daily Prompt: Friendship things. | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  12. Daily prompt: Best friends | The Wandering Poet
  13. Daily Prompt: Something so strong | cockatooscreeching
  14. Something So Strong – my best friend | Purplesus’ Blog
  15. DP Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Sabethville
  16. Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | dx0330’s Blog
  17. Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Diary of Dennis
  18. 14 Years Strong | Being HIS Light in a Dark World
  19. Best Friends | Cass’s Useless Opinions
  20. Jake | Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | likereadingontrains
  21. Big Bear: a rough essay | kaleidoscope sparks of defiance
  22. More than a Colleague | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  23. “As people grow colder” | Hope* the happy hugger
  24. Please Keep Me In Your Heart | Flowers and Breezes
  25. Ames | Long Winding Road
  26. “Picture it, Sicily, 1924…” | thoughtsofrkh
  27. Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  28. Something So Strong | Wendy Karasin – Musings of a Boomer
  29. My best friend | Root To Tip
  30. I don’t have something so strong 😦 | Jennifer Paige
  31. 277. Best Friend | Barely Right of Center

About Jullian Autry

When I set my heart on something, I give it my all. That's why I decided to blog.I am going to share my story with everyone I want to show you all who I am, my life,dreams and aspirations. I hope that my post, my story and inspiring/motivational words will be inspirational to you and motivate you to be the best you can be. I wish your dreams and potential to be born into life through my writing. Everyone is more than welcome to comment and share their opinions. I encourage it.

Posted on March 13, 2014, in Daily Prompt, friendship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Many of us had similar experiences. I don’t like bullies. Nobody does but I’m glad you found your friend. You seem like you would be a good friend to know. I like the way you write and tell your stories. You have my attention. Thank you for sharing with us. Love Katie

  2. So glad you got something so great out of something so dreadful. Friendship rules!

  1. Pingback: Position Open | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: AND STILL WE ARE STRONG | SERENDIPITY

  4. Pingback: Ode to My BFF | Views Splash!

  5. Pingback: Welcome Brothers | Views Splash!

  6. Pingback: How I Met My Rock (Quite Literally) | Thinking Diagonally

  7. Pingback: People, Let Me Tell You ‘Bout My Best Friend | 365 Days of Thank You

  8. Pingback: Daily prompt: Best friends | The Wandering Poet

  9. Pingback: Bond | My Play Nook

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The Fifth Column

"News and views from around the world"

Cook in Five Square Meters

Recipes & Photos in 5m²

Finger, Fork & Knife

I'm Kate and Finger, Fork and Knife is where I record the recipes that excite, nourish and inspire me. I focus on wholesome, high-nutrition, home-cooked food - recipes that satisfy and delight. Welcome!

tychogirl

Through binoculars / I leave my narrow world for / an ocean of stars.

Leaf And Twig

Where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry.

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

myspokenheart

musings on life, love and laughter from my spoken heart to yours

Excuse Us for Living

Making our way through our retirement years

Busy Mind Thinking

Wait! What?!

The WordPress Blogatorium

Reblogs, Reviews and more

Dreams to Reality !

Everything in between Life and Death....

blondinbrille

Live and Love...Every day..