2013 Blog Year End Review!!

Here is my 2013 Year End Review in details of how I got to where I am now!

I think it’s about that time we look back at my crazy life of blogging from when it began up until now. I’ve had this blog for years now, I believe since 2008 but I never wrote anything on it, I didn’t really grasp the concept of blogging at that time. This blog was just lingering here taking up space until February 2013 when I decided to surprise my girlfriend at the time with a nice blog post to commend our relationship and surprise her for Valentine’s Day. This post just so happened to be called Valentine. It was very exciting and I actually was really surprised when people started liking it.

I stopped blogging after that, everything was going great for me. I didn’t have much to say or to blog about, or so I thought. 3 months later, June came around and for me it seemed like Pandora’s Box was blown right open! My relationship ended and I was greatly torn into pieces by the way it ended and I didn’t take it well at all. I was on the verge of hurting myself, I couldn’t control my anger and I was so very confused. I needed an outlet, I needed something or somewhere to get my feelings out, to just rid myself of everything negative in my mind. So in turn I came back to this blog, I wanted to put everything out there initially anything I could to hurt her to make her feel the way I was feeling inside. I couldn’t do it though. I wrote to her countless letters and started writing poetry and it seemed to help calm me down until this point. I wrote in to To My series a letter to her, just one of many it was called To My Lover . I also wrote many poems like I told you so, My love, My heart, My all and You are my angel . There were also a lot of depressing post as well because I still didn’t quite know how to deal with these feelings I was feeling. It felt like I was dying and I didn’t know why. There were poems like Emptiness, Regrets, I’ve had a few and If you knew me now.

Views started coming in and I started receiving more and more feedback and it let me know I wasn’t alone. That I wasn’t the only one who ever felt this way before and for me it all just flowed. It was easy, I enjoyed it. All of the pieces were finally coming together and I felt relieved to have gotten all of these feelings out.  Then all of a sudden I started blogging about my life, turning things around and accomplishing my goals. I started getting more and more into the Daily Prompts and I felt like I was getting more and more readership. I started to feel like I actually mattered like the things I was writing about actually affected someone. So I started with more positive blog posts, and just continuing to post over and over and over again. My most viewed post and also my most challenging post was the Weekly Writing Challenge on the topic of Dialogue. Instantly I knew what I was going to write about, I knew exactly how I was going to do it and why. I named this post The End of Something Special because at the time that was how I wanted to end my relationship off and kiss it goodbye, it is pretty much a very sugar coated version of a portion of my breakup and some of the dialogue that went down. Of course it is change quite a bit from what actually happened, but I am very satisfied on how it turned out. Thank you for everyone’s great feedback on that!

Now for the numbers! Starting around November I started making blog goals for myself, since I started this I wanted to make something of it. I set a goal to post 100 posts by the end of the year and yes I have accomplished that. As of right now I have posted over 113 post!! One Hundred and Thirteen post!!!! That is just crazy to me, I almost can’t believe it. Another goal of mine was to have 100 word press followers by the end of the year, I am currently at 92!! Though I didn’t reach the goal of 100, can you guys believe 92 are actually subscribed to me!? I thank all of you guys form the bottom of my heart, you guys have no clue how much this has done for me and how much I’ve grown just from your feedback and commenting. My best ever views in one day is 86 which totally just blew my mind when that happened. I’ve had a total of 1,751 views and 432 comments on my blog thus far, you guys, just oh my gosh. I’m trying not to get emotional while writing this, but it’s really really hard. I’ve only been doing this for a couple of months now and it’s just, I’m speechless.

Though this started off as a way to vent, it has now become part of my life and honestly I love it. Thank you all for your continued support, thank you for the friendships that have been made through this site. Thank you also for my Facebook friends and family who have secretly read my blog and just haven’t said anything yet. Yeah I’m watching you! Over-all I have grown and will continue to grow and blog not just for me, but for anyone who wants to take the time to read. I hope I can inspire you and  continue show you what The Story of a Guy is all about. I don’t know what else to say beside here’s to a great year of blogging and many more to come. Happy New Year, be safe, live well and Blog on!

P.S. also follow me ! The best is yet to come.

Bonus: My Birthday Extravaganza

-Jullian

About Jullian Autry

When I set my heart on something, I give it my all. That's why I decided to blog.I am going to share my story with everyone I want to show you all who I am, my life,dreams and aspirations. I hope that my post, my story and inspiring/motivational words will be inspirational to you and motivate you to be the best you can be. I wish your dreams and potential to be born into life through my writing. Everyone is more than welcome to comment and share their opinions. I encourage it.

Posted on December 30, 2013, in Celebration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Great review Jullian! 🙂
    We just starting to know each other, but I really like what you have done so far. So keep blogging!
    Also, your words:

    I needed an outlet, I needed something to get my feelings out
    That I wasn’t the only one who ever felt this way before

    I can relate to that. Blogging is a great way to get something of your chest and there are quite a couple of special people around here!

    I wish you a magical 2014 with lots of joy and laughter and a great blogging year!
    Lots of love
    Patty

    • Same to you Patty 🙂
      Thank you as always for your wonderful feedback.
      Though we are just starting to become acquainted I feel this is only the begging of something special! (See what I did there? Turned it around from the end of something special to the beginning!)

  2. I love the way that you have written this, so positive when it came out of something so negative. So many people blog because of things that happen to them in their life and for you, to learn that you are able to write poetry and that you can heal yourself that way, is truly amazing. I shall follow your blog closer as we move into next year and I hope that it continues to help you and heal you as much as it has done already.

    Best wishes with everything. 🙂

    • I have a long way to go, I’m still young. But I WILL get there, that I promised to myself.

      I believe you can’t stay in the dark forever, eventually the light will shine. I just decided to look for that like myself instead of waiting around wasting my life and precious time away.

      I really appreciate that, thank you! 🙂

      • You are welcome and your comments above are very wise. It is hard, but each day you spend in the dark is a day you will never get back. I hope that you can find the light again soon. 🙂

  3. Hey Julian, cool story. Glad to see that blogging has really helped you. I am a relatively new blogger and never knew that there was such a diverse community within the ‘blogosphere’. I’m finding that the more I blog the more I grow in my writing ability. Actually, an ability that i didn’t even know I had much of before. many blessings.

    • Thank you! 🙂
      I still consider myself a new blogger, I have a long ways to go. Blogging is one of those things where you only get better by practicing and doing it more and more.

      -Jullian

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The Fifth Column

"News and views from around the world"

Cook in Five Square Meters

Recipes & Photos in 5m²

Finger, Fork & Knife

I'm Kate and Finger, Fork and Knife is where I record the recipes that excite, nourish and inspire me. I focus on wholesome, high-nutrition, home-cooked food - recipes that satisfy and delight. Welcome!

tychogirl

Through binoculars / I leave my narrow world for / an ocean of stars.

Leaf And Twig

Where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry.

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

myspokenheart

musings on life, love and laughter from my spoken heart to yours

Excuse Us for Living

Making our way through our retirement years

Busy Mind Thinking

Wait! What?!

The WordPress Blogatorium

Reblogs, Reviews and more

Dreams to Reality !

Everything in between Life and Death....

blondinbrille

Live and Love...Every day..